18th Annual Festival: SPIFF 2016

January 29 – February 6, 2016. Spokane, Washington, USA

2016 Awards

Audience Awards:

Audience Award for Best Feature:
My Internship in Canada (Philippe Falardeau, Canada)
Audience Award for Best Documentary:
Landfill Harmonic (Brad Allgood & Graham Townsley, USA / Paraguay)
Audience Award for Best International Short:
Crevette (Sophie Galibert, France)
Audience Award for Best of the NW, Feature:
The Glamour and the Squalor (Marq Evans, USA)
Audience Award for Best of the NW, Short:
The Mobile Stripper (Shirlyn Wong, USA)
Audience Award for Best Short:
Marty (Jason McKee, USA)
Audience Award for Best Animated Short:
If I Was God (Cordell Barker, Canada)

Thanks to Vaughn Overlie for counting the ballots! 

Juried Awards:

Best Feature: 
Patterson's Wager (O. Corbin Sleken, Canada)
Best of the NW Feature: 
Frank and the Wondercat (Tony Massil and Pablo Alvarez-Mesa, Canada)
Best of the NW Short:
Gold SpIFFy: The Mobile Stripper (Shirlyn Wong, USA)
Silver SpIFFy: The Mayor of Ballard (Titus Richard, USA)
Best Documentary:
Circus Without Borders (Susan Gray, USA)
Best Short Film:
Gold SpIFFy: Listen (Rungano Nyoni, Denmark)
Silver SpIFFy: Big Boy (Bryan Campbell, USA) 
Best Animated Short:
Otto (Job, Joris & Marieke, Netherlands)
Best of NW Filmmaker (Presented by STCU):
Jason McKee
Most Promising Filmmaker:
Travis Lien
SpIFF Volunteer of the Year Award (Presented by STCU)
Kendra "Dragon Slayer" Sherrill

Thanks to those who served on the SpIFF 2016 Jury: Adam Boyd, Irv Broughton, Isaac Joslin, Chase Ogden, Pete Porter, Mary Pat Treuthart, and Dan Webster.

(Back to top)